Bruschetta.

I wish I had a green thumb and could keep plants alive.  I have a succulent plant that I’ve had for a little over a year that I was so proud I’ve kept alive for so long, but now I think it’s dying and it makes me sad.  Anyway, this dish was inspired by my co-worker who has a knack for gardening.  She brought in some veggies from her organic garden: tomatoes and green peppers.  I knew we’d use the green pepper for our Sunday night pizza, but I wanted to use the tomatoes with simple ingredients we had laying around the house.  There was no recipe, just ideas that I came up with in my own brain.

IMG_1664

My husband and I do Hello Fresh because I hate planning meals and Hello Fresh is really yummy and it takes the guess work out of what we’re going to eat for dinner during the week.  We recently had a meal that contained tomatoes, garlic, mozzarella cheese, shallots, salt, pepper, olive oil and a balsamic glaze.  Sort of a tapenade.  It was really good, so I tried something similar for this little snack.  I didn’t measure anything, I just sliced up the tomatoes, sliced up 1/2 a shallot, used a small scoop of minced garlic and tossed it all with a drizzle of olive oil.  I toasted a small piece of bread, cut it in four and scooped heaping spoonfuls onto the pieces of bread, followed by the glaze.  It was GOOOOOOOOOOOOD!  I was actually pleasantly surprised with how well it turned out.

IMG_1665

We had it pre-pizza as a little appetizer.  Maybe I’ll try this recipe on one of our weekly pizzas.  It would be super tasty to cook the dough, and then top with the bruschetta and balsamic glaze.  I don’t think we could go wrong!  Serve it up with a nice cabernet or red blend, and bon appetit!

IMG_1666

Cheers-Ashlee

Leave a Reply

