7-Layer Bean Dip

My husband turned 40 on the 4th of July….. 40!  Luckily, he’s accepting his new old age with open arms and hasn’t cried too many tears.  For the special event, we celebrated with friends, grilled burgers and stayed cool in this hot hot summer by chilling in the pool.  We also had a carrot cake courtesy of Publix…  If you’ve never had one of their birthday cakes, put it on your bucket list now.  They are SO good.  Carrot cake is especially tasty, because it tastes exactly like an oatmeal cream pie, which by the way, is my favorite cookie.

I love dips.  Do you love dips?  They can be eaten with chips or veggies and they can be bought in store or made simply with few ingredients.  They’re also great choices to bring to a party because they will most definitely get devoured in no time.  This was true of the dip I brought to my husbands birthday celebration.  I brought a 7-layer dip, and it was a hit.  I’m not kidding when I say the container we brought it in was scraped clean.

IMG_1650
Recipe c/o Simply Home Cooked

Ingredients:

2 (16 oz) cans refried beans
1 lb sour cream
1 (8 oz) package cream cheese (room temp)
6 tbsp taco seasoning, divided
2 1/2 cups Pico de gallo or salsa
12-16 oz guacamole
1 cup Shredded mild cheddar
Sliced olives (optional)
Green onion (optional)

Instructions:

1. In a bowl, blend 2 cans of refried beans and 3 tbsp taco seasoning with a hand held mixer.

2. In a separate bowl, blend cream cheese, sour cream, and the other 3 tbsp of taco seasoning with a hand held mixer. Make sure to blend the cream cheese well.

3. I used a 9×13 dish.  In a dish, begin layering each layer starting with the refried beans, sour cream mixture, guacamole, Pico de gallo, shredded cheddar, and a handful of sliced olives.  For the holiday, I decorated mine but normal layers works fine for normal occasions.

We served it with tortilla chips, but it would probably be good with potato chips or pita chips.  I’d eat it with a spoon if people wouldn’t think I was a total weirdo.  I will definitely be keeping this recipe so it can be my go-to party food.

I hope you had a wonderful holiday!

Cheers-Ashlee

Leave a Reply

