Ice Cream.

When my husband and I got married, we registered for a homemade ice cream maker.  It sat, collecting dust for quite a while before we decided to put it to use.  There are so many recipes to choose from, so the first time I used it I made an oatmeal cinnamon cookie ice cream and it turned out perfectly.  Even though making homemade ice cream is super easy, I work full-time and go to school so I don’t have a ton of time to whip up batches and batches, but since we have made our way into the summer months and Florida is basically a sauna, I thought a nice cool sweet treat would be just perfect to cure your sweet tooth and cool you off all at the same time.

I love peanut butter and I love chocolate.  The two combined is basically my dream come true.

IMG_1584
Recipe courtesy of Tasty Kitchen

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Peanut Butter Creamy Or Crunchy (I chose crunchy!)
  • ¾ cups Sugar
  • 1 cup Milk Whole Or Two Percent
  • 1-⅓ cup Heavy Whipping Cream
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • ¾ cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preparation

Combine the peanut butter and sugar until smooth. Add the milk. Blend on low speed until smooth and the sugar is dissolved. Stir in the heavy cream and the vanilla (don’t stir too much, just a few strokes until it’s well mixed).

Place in your ice cream maker and let it run as directed. If it is soft, make sure you freeze it before eating – if you can wait!

The chocolate chips will settle to the bottom, so once it completed it’s cycle in the ice cream maker, I placed it into the freezer.  After it solidifies a little, pour in the chocolate chips and stir to disperse throughout.

It definitely gets VERY frozen, so when you’re ready to serve, just make sure you set it out for 5-10 minutes so you can easily scoop it out.  Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

