S’mores Cookie Bars

This past weekend my husband and I made the eight hour haul to Blue Ridge Georgia from our home in Orlando to celebrate my grandparents 60th wedding anniversary.  60 YEARS?!  That is so crazy and wonderful and amazing.  They’re so cute together and truly are a fine example of what a successful marriage should look like.  It’s a week long gathering in a cabin in the mountains, but unfortunately my husband could only stay two nights.  Nonetheless, while I was there I decided my recipe this week should be camping themed.  Here’s a picture from the photo booth my mom setup:

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Who doesn’t loooooooooooove s’mores by the campfire?  S’mores are so oooey gooey good and these cookies bars did not disappoint.  They were a HUGE hit with all my family.  I made them early Saturday afternoon and they were served for dessert.  I cannot say enough times how freakin’ good these things are.  I’m not usually one for seconds, but I had two.  A special fun fact about these bars:  Have you ever eaten the cereal Golden Grahams?  Because they smell just like them.  There’s almost a cup of crushed graham crackers in these babies.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 3/4 cup fine graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/2 cup marshmallow cream
  • 1/2 cup chocolate semi-sweet chocolate chips

 

DIRECTIONS:

  • Preheat oven to 350ºF. Line an 8×8 baking dish with parchment paper or foil.
  • Beat together the butter and sugar. Mix in the egg and vanilla.
  • Mix in the baking soda, salt, flour, and graham cracker crumbs until dough forms.
  • Press 3/4 of the dough into the bottom of the prepared baking dish. Spread the marshmallow cream over top. Sprinkle the chocolate chips over the cream.
  • Press the remaining cookie dough over top of the chocolate chips. Bake for 20 minutes.
  • Let cool before cutting and serving.

IMG_1522

Recipe courtesy of: Something Swanky

I actually found that 20 minutes wasn’t nearly long enough at 350 degrees, so I would recommend bumping it to 375 for 20 minutes instead.  We didn’t eat them right away, but I imagine these are even better warm, so after they cool and you’ve cut them, maybe warm it in the microwave for a couple minutes and serve with a scoop of ice cream.  These are so easy to make and well worth the wait!

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

